top of page
A 'concealed firearm' is defined under the law as a loaded or unloaded handgun.
Florida: In 1987, Florida passed a Concealed Weapon License law that was non-discretionary and guaranteed concealed weapon licenses to be issued to anyone in the State of Florida that meets the set requirements. This law was revised in 1993 to allow any citizen not living in Florida to obtain a Florida Concealed Weapon License as well.
Florida had 1,971,997 Concealed Weapon Licenses currently valid as of March 31, 2019.
Florida Concealed Weapon Licenses are issued by the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services. You can apply in person at a Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services (FDACS) regional office or an authorized Florida Tax Collector's Office in your area.
When applying in person, you will need a photo ID (driver's license or state-issued identification card is acceptable). A copy of a training document or other certificate that confirms that you are proficient with a firearm and your payment. NOTE: Regional Offices DO NOT ACCEPT CASH. For changes to your name, you will need to provide a marriage certificate, divorce decree or other court documentation. If you were born outside of the United States, you will need to bring proof of U.S. citizenship status. If you are currently employed as a law enforcement officer with a Florida law enforcement agency and are applying as such, you will need to provide an official document stating that you are currently employed with that agency. If you are a retired law enforcement officer from a Florida law enforcement agency and are applying as such, you will need an official document which shows your date of retirement and the agency from which you retired. This does NOT extend to Federal law enforcement or out-of-state law enforcement retirees.
To obtain a Florida Concealed Weapon License, you must be 21 years of age or older and display competency with a firearm. All applicants must submit fingerprints that are checked against the Florida Crime Information Center Database (FCIC), National Crime Information Center Database (NCIC) and the National Instant Criminal Background Check System (NICS) for disqualifying offenses. You must currently reside in the United States and be a US Citizen or permanent resident alien. If you are deployed with the Military, you must submit a copy of your deployment documentation with your application. If you are a permanent resident alien, you must provide your Permanent Resident Alien Card.
When applying, you will complete an online application form. Upon completion, your application will be reviewed for completeness and your photo and fingerprints will be taken. The entire application process should be done in an hour or less.
FDACS has 90 days after receipt of a completed application to either issue a license or deny the application. You will be able to check the status of your application on the www.FDACS.gov website.
ACTIVE DUTY MILITARY AND VETERAN APPLICATIONS:
Florida Concealed Weapon or Firearm License applications submitted by active military members and veterans are now expedited. Active military personnel applying for a Concealed Weapon License should include a copy of their Common Access Card or other form of official military identification with their application. A copy of a service members' current orders as proof of active duty status is also acceptable. Honorably discharged veterans should submit a copy of their DD214 long form with their application.
The initial fee for a Florida Concealed Weapon License for residents and non-residents is $97.00 which includes a $42.00 fingerprint processing fee and a $55.00 initial license fee. Renewals fee for residents is $45.00 and $87.00 for non-residents which includes a $42.00 fingerprint processing fee. (You should receive a renewal form with instructions approximately 150 days before your license expires.) If your license has expired, you have up to 30 days to renew it. After 30 days, you must apply for a new permit. To obtain a revised or duplicate copy of your Florida Concealed Weapon License, the cost is $15.00. If you are an active or recently retired Florida Law Enforcement Officer or an active Judge, some of these fees may be reduced or waived. There may be an additional convenience fee added ($22.00 new/$12 renewal) if applying or renewing through a Tax Collector's Office.
Click on the logo above for complete information on Florida's Concealed Weapon Licensing Information.
bottom of page